my he(art) finally decided!

Hello again!

I just wanted to catch up from my last post. It looks like I finally know what my objective is and what my heart has decided. I have my days where I feel like I don’t really have a goal, even though I know what I love and what I am passionate for (dance). A lot of other dancers I meet have been taking dance lessons ever since they wereΒ extremely young, and I think because of this, they’ve been given a lot of time to think about what they would like to do with their dancing. As for me, I’ve only taken scattered dance lessons for a few years and have recently been more devoted to the hip hop genre for about a year. When someone asks me, what do you want to do with your dancing, I honestly have no answer. I kind of see it as – dancing IS my goal.

With that said, I have decided that all I am going to aim for is to simply get better at dancing. I realized, that with time, hard work, and consistency, opportunities will begin to present themselves. And with those opportunities comes possibilities of which I could never dream of on my own. I believe that dancing is in my stars. Dancing is and has been the only thing on my mind ever since I was born. Music is my background and dancing is my life. For now, I aim to do at least ONE b-girl trick by this time next year. Which means = dance classes, breaking classes, weight lifting for the arms, balance foundations classes and flips classes at a parkour gym, and eating healthy foods. It doesn’t feel overwhelming as I have a plan of action, AND my ultimate goal is to simply get better at dancing. Simply, I will use the b-girl trick as a way to measure my dance progress. Ultimately if I stick to this plan, then progress will be inevitable.

Also – big UPDATE> unfortunately, the dance team I was on has officially disbanded. A lot of the dancers sought other opportunities (which is awesome) and there was no longer enough team members to pay for the space at the studio. I was planning to take a break though anyways because of school- this is my last week and I’m studying and writing every single day. With that said, this allows me to re-focus more on myself rather than on performances or team obligations.

You know what’s cool though?Β Being on that team made me progress SO MUCH MORE than I ever thought possible. And made me break out of my comfort zone. I am beyond thankful for that team and will never forget about my experience with them.

Peace πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

